slideshow

slideshow

Concrete or Cement?

The question many are asking is this: what is the difference between concrete and cement? The cement powder is a key ingredient in concrete. Concrete is the final product.

Concrete in cold temperature

The Contractor is responsible for the protection of concrete when outside temperature fall below 5°C.  It is imperative to prevent the concrete from freezing.

Concrete in hot temperature

The concrete develops it's maximum strength when maturing between 10°C and 35°C and this condition is especially important during the early days. On days when temperatures exceed 27°C, the granular bed should be moistened before concrete placement. The top of slab should be protected from drying too rapidly due to the sun, wind and heat through a water cure.

Water Cure

The water cure is a process that allows the concrete to maintain the humidity and suitable temperature for a defined period (between 3 and 7 days). It allows the concrete to develop the required properties such as durability, waterproofing, resistance to compression and wear resistance, dimensional stability, resistance to freezing and thawing and deicing salts. "A slab of concrete which has been drying too quickly develops a surface with low resistance to wear and abrasion. Proper curing reduces the problems of dust surfaces, chipping, crazing and cracking. From the Techno-# 8 Concrete Technical Bulletin published by the Association Béton Québec.

Why apply a sealer?

The sealer will reduce the dust on the surface. It is recommended to refresh the sealer regularly, according to wear.

We have copies of all the techno-bulletins published by the Association concrete concrete Quebec. Everything about concrete (concrete in cold weather, hot weather concreting, curing, concrete pumping, joints in concrete slabs and many other interesting topics) For more information, contact us.

slideshow

slideshow

Béton ou ciment?

La question que plusieurs se posent est celle-ci : quelle est la différence entre béton et ciment? La poudre de ciment est un des ingrédients principaux dans le béton.
Le béton est le produit final.

Béton par temps froid

L'entrepreneur doit prévoir la protection du béton dès que la température extérieure est susceptible de descendre en dessous de 5°C.
Il est impératif d'empêcher le béton de geler.

Béton par temps chaud

Le béton développe sa résistance optimale en mûrissant entre 10°C et 35°C et cette condition est importante surtout pendant les premiers jours. En période de chaleur de plus de 27°C, le lit granulaire devra être humidifié avant la mise en place du béton. Le dessus de la dalle devra être protégé d'un séchage trop rapide causé par le soleil, le vent et la chaleur au moyen d'une cure à l'eau.

Cure à l'eau

« La cure à l'eau est un procédé qui permet de maintenir des taux d'humidité et de température adéquate durant une période définie (entre 3 et 7 jours). Elle permet au béton de développer les propriétés requises telles que la durabilité, l'étanchéité, la résistance à la compression et à l'usure, la stabilité volumétrique, la résistance au gel/dégel et aux sels déglaçants. » Une dalle de béton ayant subi un séchage trop rapide développe une surface avec de faibles résistances à l'usure et à l'abrasion. Une cure adéquate réduit les problèmes d'empoussièrement des surfaces, d'écaillage, de faïençage et de fissuration. Tiré du Techno-béton #8 Bulletin technique publié par l'Association béton Québec.

Pourquoi appliquer un scellant ?

Le fait d'appliquer un scellant protège le béton contre les attaques de toutes sortes (le sel déglaçant, les huiles). Le scellant va diminuer l'empoussièrement des surfaces. Il est bon de rafraîchir le scellant régulièrement, selon l'usure.

Nous avons des copies de tous les bulletins techno-béton publiés par l’association béton du Québec. Tout ce qui concerne le béton (bétonnage par temps froid, bétonnage par temps chaud, la cure, le pompage du béton, les joints dans les dalles de béton et bien d’autres sujets intéressants) Pour avoir plus d’informations, communiquer avec nous.